Better Late than Never…..

Happy New Year 🙂 It has been a couple of months since my last post and I have been ‘told off’ for reading blogs but not writing ours lol so here I am. We had a lovely christmas and the theme was very much Handmade with everyone making at least one item for someone else. Ian had a production line of leather wallets going and ended up making 4 of different designs for each of the boys in our family and then decided to make a leather dvd wallet for my brother! He also covered a couple of photo frames as well which looked very stylish. On his christmas list were various Dremel items which the girls got for him so now he can do pyrography and engrave as well. I had the knitting needles out and scarves and socks were made. I also did ‘goody bags’ for each of the girls with basic sewing items, a homemade button jar and then a few new craft kits for them to try. As Emily says we are spreading the crafting love 🙂 As well as making various presents we also recieved them, Charlotte knitted me a glasses case and Emily made me a leather scissor holder in the shape of an owl.

Both were first attempts but I think they are wonderful. Amy made some brilliant home-made candles and also monogrammed names onto towels in cross-stitch for  Charly and Danny using waste canvas.

The main event in january though was the arrival of Ians rod building kit. He had ordered it before christmas and got all the equipment he needed organised and built. He took his time over it and after 7 hours of slow spinning on his custom built stand ( using a cordless drill, an empty  double cream pot and some tape) it was finally finished and looks brilliant. He then took a solid cardboard inner from some christmas wrapping paper and some leather and made himself a rod tube, and a pair of old cotton trousers were cut down to make the rod bag. All in all a totally homemade project.

After a December of knitting I decided to get my Country Footpath cross-stitch finished in January and Ian then framed it for me. It rreminds me of many of the walks we have taken.

I am now working on a Foxglove cushion that I had already started and also have a pair of socks for me on the needles using a gorgeous ball of wool that Amy bought me for christmas. January is also my birthday and I was treated to a crocheted scarf and necklace, handmade by Amy, a gorgeous embroidered cushion from Charlotte and a bottle of home-made bubble bath and some lovely flowers from Emily. An extra treat was a trip to the Cath Kidston store to spend my birthday money and home to a lovely lunch that the girls prepared.

Hopefully February will be as productive 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 34 other followers

Crafty Viewers

  • 150,483 hits

Ian's Flickr Photos

