What I made with leftover Birch

Today I decided to do something with the birch I had leftover after finishing my knife. I wanted a new firesteel to match my knife. I cut an Army firesteel in half and glued it to the birch by drilling a hole of about 15mm deep into the birch and then filled it epoxy glue. I then inserted the firesteel and left it overnight.

Then I cut, filed and sanded it to the shape I wanted. Oiled it with Pure Tung Oil and this is the result.

It will match the knife. I am very pleased with the result.

Mandy had a zip pull break on her bag. When she saw the firesteel handle she said ” That will match my bag, can you make me a zip pull the same only smaller.

One zip pull…

I was on my favourite Bushcraft Forum, Natural Bushcraft.co.uk and saw what I have been looking for a Multi fuel stove. I need one that breaks down for fishing trips. This fit the bill being a wood or Meths burner. I have obtained the PDF of the stove and will be making it out of a Computer case side.. Take a look at the  nimblewill nomad stove and other wood burning stoves at http://zenstoves.net/Wood.htm very informative site. Provided my new Dremel finally arrives tomorrow, ( 2 days late ), I will start cutting out the template I downloaded from zenstoves.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Crafty Viewers

  • 149,172 hits

Ian's Flickr Photos

